Honourary Life Members Inducted

Aug 31, 2022

The induction of Honourary Life Members in the Yorkton Chamber of Commerce first occurred in 1969. The practice was re-established in 2012. According to the Chamber’s Constitution “ Persons who have distinguished themselves by meritorious or public service may be elected Honourary Life Members by majority vote by the Board.

Honourary Life Membership shall include all the privileges of active membership, except that of holding office, with the exemption from paying dues.”

Such Life Membership shall be granted to the individual and not the company.

Donna Brown has been active in the community since 1965. She has volunteered for a variety of organizations and was a member of the Yorkton chapter of the Canadian Red Cross when it developed the city of Yorkton’s first emergency preparedness plan. She served as President of the Yorkton Chamber in 1990 and also served on the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce.

Vern Brown joined Brown Bros Implements in 1965 and was with the company until it closed. Vern has been a member of the Yorkton Lions’ Club for 51 years; serving on its executive and on numerous committees. Donna and Vern provide a quarter of land to the Yorkton Terriers for fundraising.

Janet Hill served as a Yorkton City Councillor for a total of 8 years. She served on the Boards of the East Health Region; the Sunrise Health Region and the Health Foundation. Janet was also involved in the early days of the Yorkton Film Festival and the Lions’ Lobster Fest when they joined forces.

Diane Rusnak, also an avid community volunteer, was a realtor for several years. She has been the Chair of the Health Foundation’s 23 annual galas which together have raised over $634 thousand! Diane received the Saskatchewan Centennial Medal in 2005 in recognition of her volunteer efforts.